Book Review: In Such Good Company

I’m not sure what I was expecting when I requested a review copy of Carol Burnett’s In Such Good Company, but it sure wasn’t this.

carol-burnett

Yes, the subtitle Eleven Years of Laughter, Mayhem, and Fun in the Sandbox should have clued me in that this book would be about the eleven year run of Carol’s show, but I still wasn’t prepared to read a blow-by-blow account of so many episodes.  While I do want to watch re-runs of the show I loved as a teen in the mid-70’s, this book was somewhat disappointing. If I had to hazard a guess, I would say Carol Burnett talked into a recorder about the “good old days” on her show, and someone transcribed everything she said onto paper.

That said, I did learn some interesting facts about some of my favorite actors that appeared on the show, including Harvey Korman, Tim Conway, and Vicki Lawrence.  There were moments when Carol’s wonderful sense of humor was evident, and that made this book well worth reading; a fun look back at a show that families could watch together for a good laugh.

Leave a Reply

