Book Review: Dear Mister Essay Guy

Dear Mister Essay Writer Guy,
This was my review on Goodreads a few months ago when I read your book for the first time:

Mildly amusing, but only mildly. And I normally like Moore’s essays and articles on essay-writing but this book had zero helpful advice for writers, so maybe it was my expectations, but I was very disappointed.

A few days ago I decided to give it a second look before I added it to the box of books headed to the HalfPrice bookstore that pays cash for my cast-offs.

Dear Mister Essay Writer Guy: Advice and Confessions on Writing, Love, and Cannibals is written in LETTER format. Yes, questions written to author Dinty W. Moore, followed by his humorous, though dubiously helpful, answers.

As an avid reader on the writing craft, I still maintain that there isn’t as much substance to this book as there is to your articles on the art of the essay. That said, I did find the humor a bit more palatable the second time around.

While this book wasn’t for me, it does have merit, and there are fledgling writers who might get more out of it than I did.

dinty-moorereviewed by Mary Potter Kenyon

 

Leave a Reply

