A Trunk of Memories

How often do you find yourself going back in time?

I do every time I open the trunk I inherited from my mother.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Inside are some of Mom’s scrapbooks, drawings my children and grandchildren made, a hat of my mother’s and one of David’s hats, my Dad’s old sweater vest, greeting cards, and letters…lots and lots of letters. I haven’t kept all the letters I’ve received, but I think I kept every single letter I’d ever gotten from my mother. I treasure those, occasionally re-reading them. If I’d kept every letter Mary had written me, there wouldn’t have been room in the trunk for anything else.

Have you ever considered that the letters you write might end up in a trunk somewhere, to be pulled out and read long after you are gone? That’s the incredible power of a handwritten letter.

Leave a Reply

