Thrift Store “Book Haul”

I don’t know why “coincidences” like this continue to amaze me, since I have so many of them, but they do. Maybe because I don’t believe they actually are coincidences. I stopped at a Goodwill thrift store this afternoon and purchased these books. I was excited to find a newer copy of Heaven is For Real for my library because our copy got ruined in the drop box last week. The Power of a Praying Woman Bible and Everyday Encouragement Journal are like new. And despite the fact that 2015 is nearing completion, I couldn’t resist the leather bound daily planner for 50-cents, with one of my favorite Bible verses inscribed on it: Jeremiah 29:11 “For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the Lord, “Plans to prosper you and not to harm you. plans to give you hope and a future.”

Then there is the boxed genuine bonded leather daily devotional journal, nearly new except for an inscription inside, and I can easily remove that page.

The single fiction title I picked up is Falling Home by Karen White.

DSCF3340These are all wonderful books, but my most amazing find today was the Bill Hybels’ Power of a Whisper: Hearing God, Having the Guts to Respond. If you remember my “book haul” photo from a BookOutlet order earlier this week, you’ll recall the brand new DVD included in the box. Yes, it was Bill Hybels’ Power of a Whisper:Hearing God, Having the Guts to Respond. What do you think the odds are that I would find the book that goes with the DVD within days of each other, one through the mail and the other in a thrift store thirty miles from home? Just yesterday one of the members of my group stopped me in the grocery store to ask if I’d decided what to use for our next study. I wasn’t sure then.

I am now.

2 thoughts on “Thrift Store “Book Haul”

  1. Cecelia Lester says:

    mary; where I live.we don’t call those coincidences.we call them “God moments.” They are very special blessings when they happen. Blessings to you and yours.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

