Say What? Stationery? OR Stationary?

                                               STATIONERY STORAGE? OR STATIONARY STORAGE?

STATIONERY STORAGE

STATIONERY STORAGE

I swear~ I thought the sign on the truck on the side of the road said “Stationery Storage Available Here,” as in paper stationery, not stationary, as in staying in one place. And it made me think of the “Letter-Writing 101” chapter of our book.

From Mary & Me: A Lasting Link Through Ink:

Mary and I are addicted to stationery. All kinds of it. We give it as birthday and Christmas gifts (usually in designs we fancy since we’ll eventually be seeing those pages in our mailbox). We love free pens, pencils, and logoed pads from county fairs, businesses, motels, and hotels. Stickers adorn most of my envelopes. I’m also a fan of stamping designs on them. If someone gives me a card with just my name on it and it isn’t sealed, I recycle it, whiting out my last name and inserting Mary’s instead. Cheesy? Maybe. Economical? Yes. Is there ever a time when I think I have too much writing material? I doubt it, though my husband might think otherwise.
Mary Jedlicka Humston, pages 176-177
When Mary mentions our mutual love of paper and pens, I wonder if she knows the extent of my obsession. Would she be shocked at the contents of the cabinet where I store our school and office supplies? Three of the shelves hold paper; there are reams of white copy paper, stacks of colorful notebooks, bins of cute notepads, and brand new boxes of stationery. Then there is the seven-drawer plastic storage unit next to my desk. The bottom drawer holds scratch paper for grandchildren to scribble on, but the other six are crammed with vintage stationery, decorated printer sheets, and a wide assortment of note cards. I do have preferences: smaller stationery to the larger printer size, thinner sheets to the thicker ones, and vintage styles to newer ones. Thin air-mail sheets satisfy nearly all my senses. I feel a thrill of satisfaction when I fold the letter in half and hear the crinkling as I insert it in the envelope. Sometimes I take it out to re-read it just to feel and hear the paper again before mailing.
Mary Potter Kenyon, pages 171-172

When I wrote that previous paragraph, my stationery was stored in a cabinet and a plastic storage unit. Since an office/library re-design, however, I now use woven bins and decorated lidded boxes on a wooden shelf.

stationery truck 029The largest bin on the top shelf holds all my journals and new boxes of stationery. Another woven basket holds loose sheets of the smaller stationery that I prefer, and the smallest one holds my note cards and extra envelopes. The two large decorated bins hold the printer sheet sized paper, stickers, and address labels, and the smallest box holds all my greeting cards.

stationery truck 030stationery truck 031So when I wrote that I wondered if Mary H. had any idea how much stationery I actually own, I suspect the answer is a resounding No.

And this isn’t even counting the large bag of note cards, stationery and envelopes I’ve set aside for our upcoming “Letter-Writing 101” workshops.

stationery truck 035That’s a lot of stationery and note cards. Which is why this sentiment from the end of my “P.S. Postcript” chapter is accurate;

I love Mary. She is one of the first people I turn to in both good and bad times. Cowriting this book with her has drawn us even closer. Yes, I can imagine us living together as two old (much older!) widows. Would we want to continue writing each other even though we lived in the same house?
That would work. I own more than enough stationery already for the both of us.
(page 185)

Leave a Reply

